EuroEyes Cyclassics 2018 odds

Who wins EuroEyes Cyclassics 2018?

Elia Viviani3.003.00
Pascal Ackermann3.003.00
Arnaud Démare11.0011.00
Peter Sagan12.0012.00
Alexander Kristoff13.0013.00
André Greipel13.0013.00
Giacomo Nizzolo21.0021.00
John Degenkolb21.0021.00
Matteo Trentin26.0026.00
Sonny Colbrelli34.0034.00
Danny Van Poppel41.0041.00
Nikias Arndt41.0041.00
Sacha Modolo41.0041.00
Edvald Boasson Hagen51.0051.00
Michael Albasini51.0051.00
Phil Bauhaus51.0051.00
Clément Venturini81.0081.00
Daniel Mc Lay81.0081.00
Iván García Cortina81.0081.00
Jürgen Roelandts81.0081.00
Mike Teunissen81.0081.00
Nathan Haas81.0081.00
Niccolò Bonifazio81.0081.00
Carlos Barbero126.00126.00
Tiesj Benoot126.00126.00
Daryl Impey151.00151.00
Enrico Battaglin151.00151.00
Fabio Felline151.00151.00
Luka Mecgez151.00151.00
Marko Kump151.00151.00
Michael Mørkøv201.00201.00
Simone Consonni201.00201.00
Simon Clarke301.00301.00
Alexander Porsev401.00401.00
Antwan Tolhoek401.00401.00
Carlos Betancur401.00401.00
Jan Tratnik401.00401.00
Mark Renshaw401.00401.00
Moreno Hofland401.00401.00
Richard Carapaz401.00401.00
Ruslan Tleubayev401.00401.00
Simon Gerrans401.00401.00
Davide Martinelli501.00501.00
Ian Stannard501.00501.00
Jan Bakelants501.00501.00
Luke Rowe501.00501.00
Patrick Bevin501.00501.00
Pawel Franczak501.00501.00
Ramon Sinkeldam501.00501.00
Jonas Koch601.00601.00
José Joaquín Rojas601.00601.00
Nils Politt601.00601.00
Roman Maikin601.00601.00
Sergey Shilov601.00601.00

EuroEyes Cyclassics 2018

The EuroEyes Cyclassics, formerly known as the Hew Cyclassics and Vattenfall Cyclassics, is a one day professional cycling race held around Hamburg in Germany. The 2018 edition will be held on the 19th August and has been part of the UCI World Tour circuit since 2005. It’s organised by IRONMAN Unlimited Events Germany.

This year will be the 23rd edition of the race, which has been won by some big names on the cycling tour in recent years. Previous winners include Edvald Boasson Hagen (Team Dimension Data), Arnaud Demare (Team Groupama–FDJ), John Degenkolb (Team Trek–Segafredo), Alexander Kristoff (UAE-Team Emirates), Andre Greipel (Team Lotto–Soudal) and Caleb Ewan (Team Mitchelton–Scott).

Last year’s race was won by Italian rider Elia Viviani (Team Sky). He won the final sprint to beat off the challenge from Arnaud Demare, Dylan Groenewegen (Team LottoNL–Jumbo), Alexander Kristoff and Andre Greipel.

The 2018 race

Race Director Roland Hofer says, "The EuroEyes Cyclassics’s profile is primarily aimed at the sprinters, but in the end they can be won by any major rider, and that is exactly what races need for a balanced UCI World Tour."

Having just lost out on the win last year, Alexander Kristoff will fancy himself for the 2018 crown. He looks likely to be challenged by the usual bing name sprinters on the tour - Greipel and co - as well as Germany's very own Rick Zabel (Team Katusha - Alpecin). Norway’s Amund Grondahl Jansen (Team LottoNL-Jumbo) is an outside shot.

With the likes of BMC Racing, Team LottoNL-Jumbo and UAE-Team Emirates all expected to field strong teams and be at the front of the peloton at the end, another bunch sprint is likely. Expect fireworks once more.

The course puts the riders through around 250 km of racing, with the hardest point being the Waseberg hill in Blankenese. After that, expect the strong sprint teams to work hard to position their lead sprinter in a favourable position to capitalise on the race to the line.