Tour de France King of the Mountains classification odds

Tour de France 2018 - King of the Mountains classification

Julian Alaphilippe2.001.90
Warren Barguil2.752.60
Rafal Majka15.0013.00
Serge Pauwels19.0017.00
Geraint Thomas21.0011.00
Steven Kruijswijk23.0023.00
Mikel Landa29.0026.00
Nairo Quintana Rojas29.0026.00
Chris Froome34.0023.00
Adam Yates41.0034.00
Daniel Martin51.0041.00
Mikel Nieve51.0041.00
Pierre Rolland67.0034.00
Primož Roglic67.0034.00
Romain Bardet67.0041.00
Domenico Pozzovivo67.0051.00
David Gaudu67.0067.00
Bauke Mollema81.0067.00
Thomas De Gendt81.0067.00
Tom Dumoulin81.0067.00
Lilian Calmejane101.0067.00
Jakob Fuglsang101.00101.00
Ilnur Zakarin151.0067.00
Damiano Caruso151.00126.00
Alejandro Valverde201.00126.00
Robert Gesink301.00151.00
Rudy Molard301.00151.00
Daniel Navarro301.00201.00
Jon Izagirre301.00301.00
Daniel Felipe Martínez401.00151.00
Omar Fraile401.00201.00
Marc Soler401.00401.00
Pierre-Roger Latour501.00201.00
Antwan Tolhoek751.00201.00
Darwin Atapuma751.00201.00
Bob Jungels751.00751.00
Guillaume Martin751.00751.00
Franco Pellizotti1001.001001.00
Gorka Izagirre1001.001001.00
Jesús Herrada1001.001001.00
Tejay Van Garderen1001.001001.00
Toms Skujinš1001.001001.00
Amaël Moinard1501.001501.00
Gregor Mühlberger1501.001501.00
Nicolas Edet1501.001501.00
Tomasz Marczynski1501.001501.00
Andrey Amador2501.002501.00
Jelle Vanendert2501.002501.00
Laurens Ten Dam2501.002501.00
Maxime Bouet2501.002501.00
Pawel Poljanski2501.002501.00
Sylvain Chavanel2501.002501.00
Wouter Poels2501.002501.00
Élie Gesbert4501.004501.00
Anthony Perez4501.004501.00
Arthur Vichot4501.004501.00
Gianni Moscon4501.004501.00
Ian Boswell4501.004501.00
Jesper Hansen4501.004501.00
Kévin Ledanois4501.004501.00
Michal Kwiatkowski4501.004501.00
Pavel Kochetkov4501.004501.00
Peter Sagan4501.004501.00
Romain Hardy4501.004501.00
Romain Sicard4501.004501.00
Simon Clarke4501.004501.00
Thomas Degand4501.004501.00
Egan Bernal7591.00201.00

Tour de France - King of the Mountains classification

The famous polka dot jersey is given to the rider leading the King of the Mountains (KOM) standings. In the KOM standings, riders are awarded points for the order they cross the summit of tough climbs, with the most points being awarded to the rider who crosses first, and more points available on the hardest climbs (the most difficult are labelled uncategorised, with the first rider over being awarded 20 points).

Clearly, this classification favours the strong climbers on the tour, especially aggressive cyclists who like to attack during the toughest sections of the race - such as on the infamous Alpe d’Huez. These climbers may not have the all-round qualities of the general classification winner, so will target the polka dot jersey. Often a general classification challenger who has fallen behind the competition will change his focus to becoming the King of the Mountains.

If the same cyclist is leading the general classification and KOM standings, the polka dot jersey will be worn by the rider in second place. The KOM has been won by the overall winner of the Tour de France multiple times, the most recent being Chris Froome (Team Sky), who achieved it in 2015, and the record for the most polka dot jerseys in Frenchman Richard Virenque, with seven wins.

The current holder of the KOM is French rider Warren Barguil (Team Sunweb), who superbly won the KOM last year, and will once more fancy himself on the aggressive climbing. Barguil won the famous polka dot kersey with a hefty 169 points.

His challengers this year include general classification contender Chris Froome, Nairo Quintana (Movistar Team), Alejandro Valverde (Movistar Team), Simon Yates (Team Mitchelton–Scott), Esteban Chaves (Team Mitchelton–Scott) and fellow Frenchman Thibaut Pinot (Team Française des Jeux). Additionally, two-time winner Rafal Majka (Team Bora–Hansgrohe) will be hoping to regain his crown as the best climber.

Mountainous stages to watch out for:

10 - Annecy to Le Grand-Bornand - 159km
11 - Albertville to La Rosière - 108km
12 - Bourg-Saint-Maurice to Alpe d’Huez - 175km
16 - Carcassonne to Bagnères-de-Luchon - 218km
17 - Bagnères-de-Luchon to Saint-Lary-Soulan/Col-de-Portet - 65km
19 - Lourdes to Laruns - 200km