odds comparison Rugby World Cup

Who wins the Rugby World Cup 2019?

Odd unit: EU | UK | US
New Zealand2.202.10
South Africa4.504.30

Rugby World Cup 2019

The 2019 Rugby World Cup will be held in Japan and it will be the first time the tournament is played in Asia.

The Rugby World Cup 2019 will be the ninth time the competition is played and it will be the first time the event has been staged in the same hemisphere consecutively. The previous Rugby World Cup, which was played in England in 2015, was won by New Zealand.

It was the first time a country has successfully defended the Rugby World Cup having won it the previous time and New Zealand will be hoping to make history by doing it again in Japan. New Zealand, Australia, South Africa and England are the only teams to have won the Rugby World Cup.

Will we see a new team lift the trophy in 2019?

New Zealand have been placed in Pool B along with South Africa, Italy, Namibia and the repechage winner. The match between the All Blacks and Springbok is going to be one of the most exciting in the group stages of the tournament but New Zealand are expected to come out on top and win the Pool.

New Zealand have handed South Africa some heavy defeats in recent years and Japan defeated South Africa at the 2015 Rugby World Cup, causing a huge upset. If New Zealand win the group they will get an easier quarter-final and it would take a brave person to back against them winning the Rugby World Cup 2019.

Ireland and England are considered the best hopes from the Six Nations. England won the Rugby World Cup in 2003, defeating Australia in the final and were recently being touted as having a great chance of winning the trophy for the second time.

However, English rugby is in a poor way heading towards the tournament with Eddie Jones’ job said to be on the line. A disappointing Six Nations could lead to the departure of the Australian and with a Pool containing France and Argentina, things do not look great for England.

Ireland are in better shape ahead of the 2019 Rugby World Cup and have Scotland and Japan as their main Pool rivals.  Ireland should top the Pool and with a potential quarter-final against South Africa, will fancy their chances of reaching the latter stages.

Australia are in Pool D and will compete with Wales to finish top. The winners and runners-up of this group will meet teams from Pool C and both Australia and Wales will fancy their chances of making the semi-final of the tournament.

The hosts, Japan, must defeat either Ireland or Scotland to have a chance of reaching the knockout stages, with a win over the latter their greatest hope. Samoa will also hope to challenge for second place and Pool A could be the most competitive in the tournament.

However, when predicting who will win the Rugby World Cup 2019, it is difficult to ignore defending champions New Zealand. The All Blacks will start the competition as favourites to win their fourth Rugby World Cup.