Tour of Norway 2018 odds

Who wins Tour of Norway 2018?

Odds Coming Soon

Tour of Norway 2018

The 2018 Tour of Norway is a road cycling stage race that starts on Wednesday 16th May and finishes on Sunday 20th May. The race is a class 2.HC race and forms part of the Europe Tour 2018.

As the successor to the stage race Ringerike GP (which is now a one day race), the Tour of Norway is fairly new on the cycling calendar having started in 2011. It was created to meet the growing demand and interest in cycling in Norway, and the success of professional Norwegian riders Edvald Boasson Hagen and Thor Hushovd.

The start and finish

Stage one begins in Svelvik and end 186 km later in Horten. It is a reasonably flat first stage, although climbs after Konnerud and at Gregershullet and Asgardstrand will test the riders. There will be two King of the Mountain and two Sprint opportunities for the peloton.

Stage two is a more challenging stage, with a tough opening section greeting the riders, before the first King of the Mountain climb at Skaret. Finishing in Asker, the finale presents a chance for punchers to attack on an ascent to stage victory. Stage three is a flatter day, ending in a circuit at Sarpsborg.

The fourth stage is the longest stage of the race and features the toughest climb - Gasbu. The peloton will then have to ascend Byflaten, before finishing in Brumunddal. The Tour of Norway finishes in Lillehammer, after a stage full of climbs and opportunities to attack. Stage five includes the climbs of Hafjell, Musdalen and Kanthaugen.

How the race will play out

Last year’s race finished in dramatic circumstances. Local hero Edvald Boasson Hagen (Team Dimension Data), who went on to win the race, took a tumble with just one lap to go in the final stage in the capital city of Norway. Quite remarkably, the peloton decided to wait for him to recover in an act of real sporting fairness.

From then on, nobody attacked on the last climb and Boasson Hagen destroyed the rest of the pack in a bunch sprint. He won the stage and finished as winner of the general classification jersey, in front of Simon Gerrans and Pieter Weening.

Multiple winner Boasson Hagen will be a hot favourite to win once more, but will face a tough challenge from the likes of previous winner Pieter Weening, Stefan Denifl, Nick Schultz, Alex Kirsch and Dylan Groenewegen.

Teams competing include Dimension Data, Team LottoNL-Jumbo, Aqua Blue Sport, Bardiani-CSF and Caja Rural - Seguros RGA.