Tour of Flanders 2018 odds

Who wins Tour of Flanders 2018?

Peter Sagan3.503.00
Greg Van Avermaet4.003.75
Philippe Gilbert11.007.50
Michal Kwiatkowski13.009.00
Alexander Kristoff17.009.00
John Degenkolb19.0016.00
Any Other21.002.30
Niki Terpstra21.0015.00
Oliver Naesen26.0016.00
Sep Vanmarcke26.0019.00
Zdenek Stybar29.0021.00
Gianni Moscon30.0021.00
Dylan Van Baarle45.0034.00
Matteo Trentin51.0021.00
Tiesj Benoot51.0031.00
Jasper Stuyven67.0029.00
Luke Rowe67.0034.00
Arnaud Démare67.0041.00
Edvald Boasson Hagen67.0050.00
Ian Stannard81.0041.00
Daniel Oss81.0051.00
Fabio Felline81.0051.00
Jürgen Roelandts81.0051.00
Jens Keukeleire81.0067.00
Magnus Cort81.0067.00
Stijn Vandenbergh81.0067.00
Tony Martin81.0067.00
Wout Van Aert81.0067.00
Fernando Gaviria81.0080.00
Sonny Colbrelli81.0080.00
Filippo Pozzato81.0081.00
Alexey Lutsenko101.0041.00
André Greipel101.0051.00
Edward Theuns101.0051.00
Sacha Modolo101.0051.00
Tony Gallopin101.0051.00
Yves Lampaert101.0067.00
Vincenzo Nibali101.0081.00
Bryan Coquard121.00101.00
Michael Valgren126.00100.00
Søren Kragh Andersen126.00126.00
Luke Durbridge151.0034.00
Jens Debusschere151.0060.00
Dries Devenyns151.00151.00
Lars Boom201.0067.00
Oscar Gatto201.00101.00
Stefan Küng201.00101.00
Yoann Offredo201.00151.00
Sebastian Langeveld201.00201.00
Christophe Laporte251.00201.00
Florian Senechal251.00201.00
Matti Breschel251.00201.00
Silvan Dillier251.00251.00
Dylan Groenewegen301.00101.00
Sylvain Chavanel301.00101.00
Elia Viviani301.00201.00
Giacomo Nizzolo301.00251.00
Heinrich Haussler301.00251.00
Alberto Bettiol301.00301.00
Alexander Edmondson301.00301.00
Guillaume Van Keirsbulck301.00301.00
Stijn Devolder301.00301.00
Timo Roosen301.00301.00
Jempy Drucker401.00100.00
Scott Thwaites401.00101.00
Mark Cavendish401.00126.00
Christopher Juul-Jensen401.00301.00
Danny Van Poppel401.00301.00
Lukas Pöstlberger401.00301.00
Marcus Burghardt401.00301.00
Alexis Gougeard401.00401.00
Dimitri Claeys401.00401.00
Imanol Erviti401.00401.00
Jasper De Buyst401.00401.00
Mathew Hayman401.00401.00
Nikias Arndt401.00401.00
Taylor Phinney401.00401.00
Moreno Hofland501.00301.00
Baptiste Planckaert501.00401.00
Daniele Bennati501.00401.00
Lars Bak501.00401.00
Laurens De Vreese501.00401.00
Marco Marcato501.00401.00
Tom Devriendt501.00401.00
Tom Van Asbroeck501.00401.00
Andrey Amador501.00501.00
Andriy Grivko501.00501.00
Julien Vermote501.00501.00
Luka Mezgec501.00501.00
Mads Pedersen501.00501.00
Mathieu Ladagnous501.00501.00
Benjamin Thomas601.00501.00
Jelle Wallays601.00501.00
Kenneth Van Bilsen601.00501.00
Lawrence Naesen601.00501.00
Maarten Wynants601.00501.00
Mads Würtz Schmidt601.00501.00
Michael Schär601.00501.00
Rudy Barbier601.00501.00
Vyacheslav Kuznetsov601.00501.00
Adrien Petit601.00601.00
Amund Grøndahl Jansen601.00601.00
Bert De Backer601.00601.00
Borut Bozic601.00601.00
Iván García Cortina601.00601.00
Pim Ligthart601.00601.00
Reinhardt Janse Van Rensburg601.00601.00
Bert Van Lerberghe751.00501.00
Jos Van Emden751.00501.00
Marco Haller751.00601.00
Johan Le Bon801.00601.00
Nelson Oliveira801.00601.00
Ramon Sinkeldam801.00601.00
Sven Erik Bystrøm801.00601.00
Zico Waeytens801.00601.00
David Per801.00751.00
Jonathan Dibben801.00751.00
Amaury Capiot801.00801.00
Julien Duval801.00801.00
Owain Doull801.00801.00

On the 1st April 2018, the 102nd edition of the Tour of Flanders, which is part of the UCI World Tour, will take place. It’s a classic one-day cycling race, famous for its short, sharp and cobbled climbs.

Starting in Antwerp, the route takes in around 250k of Flemish land, with the iconic finale highlighted by a fierce finish on the cobbled climbs up the Kwaremont and Paterberg.

If the race is anything like last year, spectators will be in for a classic. Who can forget Belgian local Philippe Gilbert launching a devastating attack on the second ascent of the Kwaremont and continuing to victory in a powerful solo display? He was joined at the podium by another Belgian, Greg Van Avermaet, coming in second, and Nikki Terpstra finishing in third.

Similar to the famous Paris-Roubaix, one of the most exciting and memorable aspects of the Tour of Flanders is the cobbled climbs. However, while Roubaix is all about the cobbles, the Tour of Flanders is a brutal mix of cobbles and steep climbs.

Today, the Tour of Flanders is one of the five ‘monuments’ of cycling and is one of the most prestigious one-day races on the World Tour. 

The 2018 Race

Due to the cobbles and the narrow climbs, the race itself is often very unpredictable as riders jostle to get into a good position. Racing on the cobbles is all about riding aggressively, and that adds to the spectacle.

It’s a very strategic race, with plenty of opportunities for riders to attack the peloton. The steep climbs typically favour aggressive cycling, which, of course, makes it a more attractive race for fans.

Riders should be wary of the main climbs. Namely the Kwaremont, which is a long section of the course, covered in cobbles and with a sharp ascent at the start. This is often when riders decide to make a break from the peloton in a bid to race clear.

Additionally, the Paterberg is another one to watch out for. This climb comes at the end of the race, and the riders are greeted with an atmosphere similar to that found on the infamous climbs of the Tour De France. The Paterberg is relatively short but incredibly steep, and with a lot of kilometres in their legs, it’s a brutal test of strength and stamina as the cyclists approach the finish line.

The big question will be whether a Belgian can retain the title, or whether we be in for a big surprise. Local fans will be cheering on the current champion, Philippe Gilbert, and fellow Belgian, Greg Van Avermaet, while a previous winner Peter Sagan will likely be the favourite going into the race.

A win in the Tour of Flanders is career-defining, but perhaps an indication of the difficulty of the race is the fact that just six cyclists have managed to win the one-day race three times. This makes it a unique race amongst the other major classics.