Hamburg Cyclassics odds

Who wins Hamburg Cyclassics 2022?

Odd unit: EU | UK | US
Odds Coming Soon

Hamburg Cyclassics 2022

The 2022 Hamburg Cyclassics is a single day road cycling race that will take place in Germany on 21 August 2022. The 2022 UCI World Tour's 34th event will also mark the 25th anniversary of the Hamburg Cyclassics. In this edition, the race will also be referred to as the BEMER Cyclassics for sponsorship reasons.

Despite variations in the route, the mileage is always close to 250 kilometres. Waseberg hill near Blankenese, which is addressed three times in the final lap of the race, is the biggest challenge on the course.

The Jedermannrennen also known as Everyman's race, an amateur or cyclosportive competition staged on the same day and on the same roads, is often a significant component of the Cyclassics. Bike enthusiasts can take part in amateur tour races of 55, 100, and 155 kilometers. 22.000 amateurs are allowed to participate, and tickets must be ordered months in advance.

The Route

The race, which essentially consists of a single challenging stage, typically begins on the Steinstraße in Hamburg-Altstadt and ends on the famous shopping street of Mönckebergstraße in Hamburg's bustling business sector. The distance, which is mostly flat in the Hamburg hinterland, ranges from 225 to 255 kilometres. Every year, the race's course changes a little bit, but the finish line has kept the same.

The Waseberg hill, which is located in Blankenese, an area of Altona west of Hamburg's downtown, is the course's most challenging section. Three shorter laps west of Hamburg, including the Waseberg, make up the final laps of the race. The first ascent is made at a distance of 69 kilometers from the finish line; the second and third ascents are made at distances of 28 kilometers and 15.5 kilometers, respectively.

The Waseberg is a steep asphalted hill that rises from Blankenese's suburban centre up from the north side of the Elbe river. It has a 700 m length with a maximum grade of 16%. The climb immediately follows a hairpin turn, resulting in a rapid shift in gear and cadence, making it extremely challenging. Riders oftentimes sprint aggressively over the winding roads leading to the base of the hill as teams attempt to put their captains towards the front of the race. The Köhlbrandbrücke, Hamburg's tallest bridge, is also on the route.

Participating Teams

Many riders take part in this race from around the globe. With their participation, the race really seems an interesting and challenging one. Besides, the top competitors just take the chance on their pedal and make the race more competitive. However, here are the top competitors and the competing teams are shown below:

Top competitors: Wout Van Aert, Alexander Kristoff, Tim Wellens, Arnaud Démare, Giacomo Nizzolo, Tiesj Benoot, Peter  Sagan, Marco Haller, Jos Van Emden, Cesare Benedetti

Competing teams: Movistar Team, Alpecin-Deceuninck, Astana Qazaqstan Team, Israel - Premier Tech, Trek - Segafredo, UAE Team Emirates, BORA - hansgrohe, Bahrain - Victorious, TotalEnergies, Lotto Soudal, EF Education-EasyPost, Team DSM, Groupama - FDJ, Team BikeExchange - Jayco, Jumbo-Visma, AG2R Citroën Team, Cofidis and so on.

Current Champions

Italian professional cyclist Elia Viviani took the first position on behalf of the team Deceuninck–Quick-Step in the 2019 Hamburg Cyclassics. He gained the title ahead of Caleb Ewan (Lotto–Soudal) and Giacomo Nizzolo (Team Dimension Data).

Besides, he was the winner of the 2018 and 2017 editions, and really it was the reward for the constant hard struggle in his life story.