2018 Road World Championships odds

Who wins Men's road race?

Alejandro Valverde5.504.50
Julian Alaphilippe5.505.00
Simon Yates15.0011.00
Vincenzo Nibali15.0013.00
Primož Roglic19.0017.00
Thibaut Pinot21.0015.00
Adam Yates26.0015.00
Michal Kwiatkowski26.0019.00
Wouter Poels29.0021.00
Gianni Moscon34.0017.00
Romain Bardet34.0025.00
Peter Sagan34.0029.00
Diego Ulissi34.0034.00
Mikel Landa40.0029.00
Rigoberto Urán41.0030.00
Tom Dumoulin41.0034.00
Daniel Martin51.0029.00
Jakob Fuglsang51.0034.00
Michael Woods51.0040.00
Miguel Ángel López51.0041.00
Enric Mas Nicolau51.0050.00
Bob Jungels67.0034.00
Nairo Quintana Rojas67.0041.00
Wilco Kelderman67.0041.00
Bauke Mollema67.0050.00
Dylan Teuns67.0050.00
Greg Van Avermaet67.0051.00
Matej Mohoric67.0051.00
Tim Wellens67.0051.00
Richie Porte81.0050.00
Sergio Henao81.0050.00
Tony Gallopin81.0050.00
Rafal Majka81.0051.00
Steven Kruijswijk81.0051.00
Rui Costa101.0060.00
Domenico Pozzovivo101.0067.00
Michael Valgren101.0067.00
Pierre-Roger Latour101.00101.00
Patrick Konrad126.0081.00
Richard Carapaz126.00100.00
Warren Barguil151.0067.00
Giovanni Visconti151.00100.00
Maximilian Schachmann151.00101.00
Michael Albasini151.00126.00
Tiesj Benoot151.00126.00
Jelle Vanendert151.00151.00
Pello Bilbao151.00151.00
Ilnur Zakarin201.00150.00
Roman Kreuziger201.00150.00
Alessandro De Marchi201.00151.00
Alexis Vuillermoz201.00151.00
Diego Rosa201.00201.00
Sam Bennett250.00250.00
Sam Oomen251.00101.00
Omar Fraile251.00125.00
Jon Izagirre251.00150.00
David De La Cruz251.00151.00
Alexey Lutsenko251.00200.00
Fabio Aru251.00200.00
Jack Haig251.00250.00
Søren Kragh Andersen251.00251.00
Davide Formolo301.00250.00
Fabio Felline301.00250.00
Simon Geschke301.00250.00
Marc Soler301.00301.00
Mathias Frank301.00301.00
Tom-Jelte Slagter351.00351.00
Robert Gesink401.00101.00
Emanuel Buchmann401.00150.00
George Bennett401.00201.00
Anthony Roux401.00250.00
Benjamin King401.00250.00
Damiano Caruso401.00250.00
Davide Villella401.00250.00
Gregor Mühlberger401.00250.00
Hugh Carthy401.00250.00
Lilian Calmejane401.00250.00
Mikel Nieve401.00250.00
Pierre Rolland401.00250.00
Rudy Molard401.00250.00
Sergey Chernetskiy401.00250.00
Simon Clarke401.00250.00
Carlos Betancur401.00401.00
Simon Špilak500.00151.00
Guillaume Martin500.00401.00
Antwan Tolhoek501.00250.00
Daryl Impey501.00250.00
Gianluca Brambilla501.00250.00
Laurens De Plus501.00250.00
Sébastien Reichenbach501.00250.00
Serge Pauwels501.00250.00
Sepp Kuss501.00301.00
Stefan Denifl501.00301.00
Dries Devenyns501.00401.00
Georg Preidler501.00401.00
José Gonçalves501.00401.00
Tanel Kangert501.00401.00
Hermann Pernsteiner501.00500.00
Jesús Herrada501.00500.00
Rohan Dennis501.00500.00
Giulio Ciccone501.00501.00
Jan Bakelants501.00501.00
Joni Brandao501.00501.00
Patrick Bevin501.00501.00
Daniel Felipe Martínez601.00301.00
Nicolas Roche601.00351.00
Toms Skujinš601.00351.00
Andrey Amador601.00401.00
Ben Hermans601.00401.00
Edvald Boasson Hagen601.00401.00
Kenny Elissonde601.00401.00
Felix Grossschartner601.00500.00
Merhawi Kudus601.00500.00
Rein Taaramäe601.00501.00
Amaro Manuel Antunes601.00601.00
Louis Meintjes601.00601.00
Tejay Van Garderen601.00601.00
Tony Martin601.00601.00
Jesper Hansen751.00601.00
Pavel Sivakov751.00601.00
Jan Tratnik751.00751.00
Riccardo Zoidl801.00601.00
Nelson Oliveira801.00751.00
Robert Power801.00751.00
James Knox1001.001001.00
Niklas Eg1001.001001.00

UCI Road World Championships 2018

The UCI Road World Championships 2018 begin on the 22nd September and end on the 30th September, taking place in Innsbruck-Tirol (Austria). Over the eight days of competition, the world’s best road bike riders will compete in an individual time trial (ITT) and team time trial (TTT) before the prestigious World Championship road race on Sunday 30th September.

The road race will see the peloton cover 265 km, with a hefty 5000 metres of climbing and a final climb ramping up to 25% gradient. It is set to be one of the toughest World Championship courses in recent years.

Last year, the race was won by Peter Sagan, taking the Slovakian riders tally to three consecutive titles. Sagan won the race in a bunch sprint, beating Alexander Kristoff (Norway) over the line.

The 2018 route

The race starts in the town of Kufstein, and begins with seven ‘Olympic Circuits’ of 24 km in Innsbruck, before heading north towards the Hungerburg settlement. The circuit includes a 7.9 km climb at 5.7%, and the Gnadenwald at 57 km - a 2.6 km climb at 10.5%. From the top it’s 8 km to the finish line in Innsbruck.

The final 2 km of the race are played out on the flat so if there is a group it will likely come down to a sprint finish.

Recent winners, teams and favourites

The Road World Championships is the only race in which riders represent their country and not their professional team. The World Championships is always at the end of the season and the winning rider wears the rainbow jersey for the year following.

Sagan has won the last three years, with Michal Kwiatkowski (Poland) winning in 2014. It will be a versatile rider who is going to win the 2018 road race in Innsbruck. This year, those who can cope with the long climbs and also the flat finish will do well. It could well come down to a sprint of a select group of breakaway riders, so speed and endurance are both key.

Julian Alaphilippe (France), fresh from his Tour de France triumphs, will be a hot favourite, alongside Kwiatkowski, Vincenzo Nibali (Italy), and Primoz Roglic (Slovenia). France have a strong climbing team including Alaphilippe, Romain Bardet and Thibaut Pinot. Alaphilippe won on the polka-dot jersey for best climber at the Tour de France this year and is also a hilly one-day specialist, winning La Flèche Wallonne and the Clásica San Sebastián this year.

If the main climbers don’t get a good advantage to eliminate the fast men, the likes of Sagan, Greg Van Avermaet (Belgium) and Michael Matthews (Australia) will fancy their chances on the flat finish. Sagan, in particular, can never be written off and if he can last on the climbs then he could ride himself into the rainbow jersey once more.

Other challenges include Adam Yates (GBR), Geraint Thomas (GBR), Alejandro Valverde (Spain), Tom Dumoulin (Netherlands) and Daniel Martin (Ireland).