Giro d'Italia Young Rider classification odds

Giro d'Italia 2019 - Young rider classification

Miguel Ángel López1.331.33
Hugh Carthy6.006.00
Sam Oomen10.0010.00
Ben O'connor15.0015.00
Tao Geoghegan Hart17.0017.00
Pavel Sivakov21.0021.00
Giovanni Carboni23.0023.00
Nans Peters41.0041.00
Iván Ramiro Sosa81.0081.00
Lucas Hamilton81.0081.00
Giulio Ciccone101.00101.00
Valentin Madouas101.00101.00
Antwan Tolhoek301.00301.00
Jai Hindley301.00301.00
Eddie Dunbar401.00401.00
James Knox401.00401.00
Nicola Conci401.00401.00
Miguel Eduardo Flórez López501.00501.00
Jhonatan Narváez751.00751.00
Lorenzo Rota751.00751.00
Sepp Kuss751.00751.00
Chris Hamilton1001.001001.00
Krists Neilands1001.001001.00
Scott Davies1001.001001.00
Luca Covilli1501.001501.00
Héctor Carretero2501.002501.00
Mikkel Frølich Honoré2501.002501.00
Nico Denz4501.004501.00

Giro d'Italia Young Rider Classification 2019

The Giro d’Italia 2019 starts on Saturday 11th May in Bologna and ends of Sunday 2nd June in Verona, featuring seven summit finishes and three individual time trials. The young rider classification jersey was added to the Giro d'Italia in 1976, to be awarded to the best young rider in the race.

Much like the general classification, the young rider classification is calculated with the riders total times accumulated after each stage. Only riders under the age of 25 years old are eligible to win the white jersey.

The young rider classification was discontinued after the 1994 Giro d'Italia race, but was reintroduced in 2007 with a new age limit of 25 years old.

The favourites

Former young rider winners include big names such as Nairo Quintana, Rigoberto Uran, Fabio Aru and Bob Jungels.

This year, Egan Bernal (Team Ineos - formerly Team Sky) is a hot favourite for an overall podium place and the young Colombian will also be a favourite for the young rider classification. Richard Carapaz (Team Movistar) came fifth in the mountain classification last year and will be another young rider looking for glory. However, the biggest challenger to Bernal is likely to be Miguel Angel Lopez (Astana Pro Team), who came third in the general classification last year and won the young rider classification. He’s a rider many predict will have a superb 2019 and will be Astana’s best hope of a major title chance.

Other young riders hoping to be in the mix are Nico Denz (Team AG2R La Mondiale) and Bernal’s two young teammates Gianni Moscon and Iván Ramiro Sosa, who will all be looking for a strong performance this year.