Scheldeprijs 2019 odds

Who wins Scheldeprijs 2019?

Odds Coming Soon

Scheldeprijs 2019

The 107th edition of the Scheldeprijs takes place on Wednesday 10th April 2019 in Terneuzen, the Netherlands. The race is famous for its typical sprinters finish, and it usually attracts the best sprint names in the business.

The current champion is Fabio Jakobsen (Team Deceuninck - Quick Step), who beat Pascal Ackermann (Team BORA - Hansgrohe) and Chris Lawless (Team Sky) to the title.

Before Jakobsen’s win last year, German sprinter Marcel Kittel (Team Katusha - Alpecin) has dominated in recent years with wins in 2017, 2016, 2014, 2013 and 2012. Since 2010, the only two other riders to win the race have been Mark Cavendish (Team Dimension Data) in 2011 and Alexander Kristoff (UAE-Team Emirates) in 2015.

The 2019 race

The Scheldeprijs is the only race in the Flanders Classics calendar to start outside of Belgium. Twenty two teams will join on the start line, with ten coming from the World Tour teams and twelve being Pro Continental teams. All teams will be bringing their best sprinters in the hope of winning the fast finish in Schoten.

The route features a 200 km loop, followed by a two-lap lop around Schoten before the quick finish. Teams will want to place their sprinters near the front of the pack on that loop, and the critical part of the race will fall in 2019 on the Churchilllaan.

The favourites

The king of the Scheldeprijs is back this year. Five-time winner Marcel Kittel will be looking to make it number six and will take some beating. Three-time winner Mark Cavendish will also be hoping to recapture top form and be in with a chance to recapture the title. Elsewhere, fast men Elia Viviani (Team Deceuninck - Quick Step) and Fernando Gaviria (UAE-Team Emirates) will be strong favourites to challenge on the podium.

Jakobsen is expected to defend his title this year so will hope to be in the mix once more, and the German sprint giant Andre Greipel (Team Arkéa Samsic) will also be on the start line. Belgian’s Jasper Philipsen (UAE-Team Emirates) and Jens Debusschere (Team Katusha - Alpecin), as well as the Dutch rider Cees Bol (Team Sunweb) are also dangerous contenders who could trouble the early favourites.